The Montgomery County Board of Assessors apologizes for the incorrect Homestead Exemption information on this website. Montgomery County does not offer any Local Homestead Exemptions. The only Homestead Exemptions available in Montgomery County are the Standard State Homestead Exemptions. The Board of Assessors thanks you for your understanding.

Welcome to the Montgomery County Assessors Office Web Site!

Notice to Montgomery County Property Owners and Occupants.

In accordance with O.C.G.A 48-5-264.1 please be advised that the Montgomery County Appraisal Staff may be visiting your property. The purpose of the visit could be related to any of the following reasons:

  • Return Filed
  • Appeal Filed
  • Construction of new improvements or additions
  • Routine review of parcel to update records
  • Conservation use application filed
  • Homestead exemption application filed
  • Checking for display of mobile home decals
  • Verifying personal property
  • The appraiser may need to take photos while visiting your property. The appraiser or data collector will have photo identification and will be driving a marked county vehicle. If you should have any questions regarding the appraisal staff visiting your property please feel free to contact the assessor's office at 912-583-4131.

    Office hours are Monday through Friday 8:30 to 4:30.

    The Montgomery County Board of Tax Assessors monthly meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 5:30p.m. at the Montgomery County Government Annex, 251 S. Richardson St., Room 102, Mount Vernon, Georgia.

    The goal of the Montgomery County Assessors Office is to provide the people of Montgomery County with a web site that is easy to use. You can search our site for a wealth of information on any property in Montgomery County.

    The information contained herein reflects the values established in the "most current published" tax digest. *Please note that the Assessors Office establishes values only. The Montgomery County Tax Commissioner should be contacted with tax bill related questions.

    Did you know?
    Montgomery County, the 18th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1793 from part of Washington County. The county was named for Revolutionary War General Richard Montgomery who was mortally wounded at the siege of Quebec. Portions of the original county went to form parts of Wheeler, Tattnall, Toombs, Emanuel, Treutlen and Dodge counties.

    The Ocmulgee and Oconee Rivers join to form the Altamaha River at the county's southern border.

    Almost 53% of the county's land is in farms. Only 20 Georgia counties have a larger proportion of land area dedicated to farming.

    Mount Vernon, the county seat of Montgomery County, was incorporated as a town August 26, 1872. The city is named after President George Washington's famous home in Virginia.

    The Montgomery County courthouse in Mount Vernon, constructed in 1907, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

    Located at the intersection of U.S. highways 221 and 280, Mount Vernon is one of the six incorporated municipalities in the county. The others cities are Ailey, Alston, Higgston, Tarrytown and Uvalda.


    © Montgomery County GA Board of Assessors