Coffee County Tax Commissioner, Coffee County Georgia
MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Ad Valorem Taxes
Unless exempt by law, all vehicles are subject to ad valorem taxes based on values set by the State Department of Revenue. Ad valorem tax is computed by multiplying the State-assessed value by the local millage rate. The tax is due during the 30 day period ending at midnight on your birthday, or for businesses, within your renewal month. If you purchase a vehicle, or bring a vehicle into Georgia, before or during your 30 day registration period, ad valorem tax is due by your registration deadline. If you purchase (or bring in) a vehicle after your registration period, ad valorem tax is not due until the following year, but you must still register and tag the vehicle.

Ad valorem taxes are due on inoperative vehicles and must be paid by your deadline to avoid penalty. Non-resident active duty military may request exemption from ad valorem taxes based on their residency in another state. You must apply in person at the Tag Office. A letter from the Commanding Office is required. Active duty military personnel may claim tax exemption or homestead exemption, but not both. All Georgia residents, including military, are subject to ad valorem taxes.

Special Tags
Special Tags include "made to order" prestige plates and other tags that have specific eligibility requirements. Additional fees apply in most cases.

For information about the different kinds of tags available in Georgia visit the Motor Vehicle Division web-site at www.dmvs.ga.gov/motor/.

Billing Cycle for Renewals
You should receive your bill about 30 days prior to your deadline. If you do not have a bill to renew your COFFEE County registration 3 weeks prior to your deadline, please call 912-384-4895.

A request for a bill or non-receipt of a bill does not relieve your obligation to renew by your deadline. If you receive a bill for a vehicle you no longer own, discard it. If you have moved out of COFFEE County, contact your new county Tag Office.

Renewal of Registration Period
If you are an individual and not a business who resides in one of the following counties, your registration period would be the thirty-day (30) period of time ending at midnight on the birthday of the owner whose name is shown first on your vehicle's title and/or tag registration certificate (tag receipt).

IRP Tags
Commercial vehicles that are based in Georgia, travel in Georgia and other states and jurisdictions, and are to be registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP) should be registered with this Department's IRP Unit of the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Contact the IRP Unit for additional information.

Registration periods for these vehicles
A or B - JanuaryM or N - July
C or D - FebruaryO or P - August
E or F - MarchQ or R - September
G or H - AprilS or T - October
I or J - MayU, V or W - November
K or L - JuneX, Y, or Z - December


Important: The County Tax Commissioners' offices in this state do not issue IRP tags.

Renewal of Registration for Businesses
If your business name* begins with the following alpha character, your registration period would be the month listed to the right of the alpha character shown below: Example: If your name is Mack's Florist, your registration period would be the month of July.
A or B - JanuaryM or N - July
C or D - FebruaryO or P - August
E or F - MarchQ or R - September
G or H - AprilS or T - October
I or J - MayU, V or W - November
K or L - JuneX, Y, or Z - December


* The first alpha character of the business name that appears first on your vehicle's title and/or tag registration certificate (tag receipt) determines the month designated as your registration period.

Renewal of Registration Through Mail
Only residents registering a vehicle for the first time, changing a title due to new ownership or making a name change need to register in person. If you are renewing your COFFEE County registration you can MAIL IT!

Transferring a Tag
KEEP YOUR TAG when transferring ownership of a vehicle. Tags no longer remain with a vehicle when there is a change of ownership. The tag belongs to the first owner or lessee (not lessor) listed whether an individual or a company. It can be transferred to a replacement vehicle in the same owner's name. You will need to demonstrate that your "old" vehicle has been sold. The transfer fee is $5.

Vehicle Title Required
  • 1986 & newer year model motor vehicles
  • 1986 & newer travel trailers
  • 1986 & newer car/tow dollies weighing 2,001 lbs., or more
  • 1986 & newer motorcycles
  • 1986 & newer campers
  • 1963 & newer mobile homes
  • 1963 & newer manufactured homes

Vehicle Title Not Required/Not Issued
  • 1962 and older year model vehicles
  • Agricultural, horticultural or livestock raising equipment or vehicles that are not required to be registered
  • Airplanes, aircraft
  • All terrain vehicles, off-road vehicles
  • Boat trailers
  • Boats, watercraft
  • Buses owned and operated by an urban transit system
  • Cable cars, trolleys
  • Crane
  • Driver education vehicles used in public or private schools
  • Fifth wheel
  • Homemade car/tow dollies
  • Homemade trailers
  • Invalid tricycles
  • Moped
  • Nonresidents' vehicles (vehicles owned by people that do not have a Georgia address)*
  • Pole trailers
  • Self-propelled wheelchairs
  • Tow dollies (car) weighing 2,000 lbs or less
  • Trailers weighing 2,000 lbs or less
  • Vehicles not manufactured for highway use

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS:
When you renew your registration through the mail, the decal should be placed in the lower RIGHT corner of your tag, covering any decal already present there.

If you did not receive a bill for a vehicle previously registered in COFFEE County, if your address has changed, or for further information, call the TAG Office at 912-384-4895.